Team Apatow Players Welcomed to the Academy

Tuesday, June 30, 2009
By Rick Duran
Paul Rudd and Seth Rogen

Paul Rudd and Seth Rogen

Big Congratulations to Team Apatow members Seth Rogen, Paul Rudd, James Franco, Michael Cera and Jane Lynch on being formally invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Yes, the team behind “You Know How I Know You’re Gay” will now be among Hollywood’s A-List in voting for the Academy Awards (there’s an obvious joke in there that I’ll let you figure out on your own.)

They join other members of Hollywood’s Comedy Clique as part of the voting Academy including Ben Stiller, Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, Owen Wilson and Judd Apatow among others.  Welcoming such a heavy flow of comedic actors adds credibility to hopefully recognizing that largely unrepresented genre at awards time.  While the inclusion of guys like Rogen and Franco isn’t unexpected, I applaud the invitation to Jane Lynch. This kind of recognition is usually given to Hollywood’s top-earning stars and previous nominees/winners, but Lynch is someone who is never top-billed. She’s one of comedy’s secret weapons and it’s great to see her get this honor.

Leave a Reply